Tech day Sunday – Snap Chat Maps is ruining relationships!  Here’s how to opt out 

I am sure you have heard by now all the stories via tweet and Facebook how men are getting caught with other women.  

Have a look! 



How to Opt Out

The good news: Snap Maps is technically opt-in. It doesn’t take effect until you update the app and go through the feature’s on-boarding flow. Once you do that, though, it’s fairly straightforward (as far as Snapchat goes) to opt-out of sharing your location with others. If you’re opening the app for the first time after the update, Snapchat will walk you through a step-by-step tutorial on how to use the Snap Map. First, it’ll show you how to pinch and zoom in the camera tool to access the map. Next, it’ll ask who you want to see your location.

You get three choices: all your friends, select friends, or only me. Choosing “only me” activates what Snapchat calls Ghost Mode. This makes your avatar disappear from others’ maps; like true poltergeist, you can see others but they can’t see you. Great for lurkers! But remember, Snapchat’s all seeing, all knowing eyes (ahem, your phone’s sensors) can still track your location. To turn off location data altogether, you’ll need to visit your phone’s settings where you can scroll down to Snapchat, click on “location,” and choose to never share.

If you’ve already gone through the tutorial and want to change who can see you on their map, that’s easy, too. Open Snap Map and click on the setting menu in the right hand corner, where you can decide who gets the privilege of tracking your every move.

Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply